Lasker/IRRF Partnership:

2016 Lasker Awards, September 2016:

The Albert and Mary Lasker Awards continue to be an integral component of the IRRF’s collaboration with the Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation. These Awards provide support to outstanding scientists in the medical field by recognizing the contributions made through major advances in the understanding, diagnosis, treatment and prevention of human disease. Along with this support, the two Foundations have established the Lasker/IRRF Initiative for Innovation in Vision Science. For more information about the Awards Program, and to learn about the Lasker/IRRF Initiative for Innovation in Visions Science, please go to:

The 2016 Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award honored three physician-scientists for their discovery of the pathway by which cells from human and most animals sense and adapt to changes in oxygen availability – a process essential for survival.

William G. Kaelin Jr.

Dana-Farber Cancer

Institute, Harvard

Medical School

Peter J. Ratcliffe

University of Oxford,

Francis Crick Institute

Gregg L. Semenza

Johns Hopkins Univ.

School of Medicine

The 2016 Lasker-DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award was presented to Ralf F. W. Bartenschlager, Charles M. Rice and Michael J. Sofia for developing a system to study the replication of the virus that causes hepatitis C and used this system to revolutionize the treatment of this chronic, often lethal disease.

2016 Lasker-Koshland Award for Special Achievement in Medical Science honored Bruce M. Alberts for his fundamental discoveries in DNA replication and protein biochemistry; for visionary leadership in directing national and international scientific organizations to better people’s lives; and for passionate dedication to improving education in science and mathematics.

Ralf F. W. Bartenschlager

Heidelberg University

Charles M. Rice

Rockefeller University

Michael J. Sofia

Arbutus Biopharma

Bruce M. Alberts

University of California,

San Francisco